Baseball Hall Reorganizes Veterans Committee Structure | National

COOPERSTOWN, NY (AP) — The Baseball Hall of Fame is restructuring its veterans committees for the third time in 12 years.

Hall said Friday that it is rearranging the panels in the Contemporary Baseball Era from 1980 and the Classic Baseball Era before 1980. The Contemporary Baseball Era will hold a separate ballot for players and another for managers, executives and referees.

Each poll will include eight candidates to be considered by 16 voters, up from 10 candidates previously. A vote of at least 75% remains necessary for the election.

Beginning next January, the player ballot will include candidates who have retired for 16 seasons — a year after exhausting their eligibility for the Baseball Writers’ Association of America ballot.

Each committee will meet every three years, beginning with Contemporary Baseball/Players in December, Contemporary Baseball/Managers-Umpires-Executives in December 2023, and Classic Baseball in December 2024.

In 2010, the Hall created three committees: Pre-integration (1871-1946), Golden (1947-72) and Expansion (from 1973). This was changed in 2016 to four committees: Golden Days (1950-69), Modern Baseball (1970-87), Today’s Game (1988-2016), and Early Baseball (1871-1949).

The Ford C. Frick Award for a Top Baseball Broadcaster will have 10 nominees, up from eight, at least one of whom must be a foreign-language broadcaster. Local and national broadcasters will be considered for four consecutive years, starting with the 2023-26 awards, followed by a pre-wild card (1994) ballot in 2027, with the cycle to repeat.

Since 2016, the Frick Award ballot had rotated between Major League markets (team-specific advertisers); National Voices (broadcasters whose contributions have been made at the national level); and Broadcasting Beginnings (first team voices and pioneers in baseball broadcasting).

More AP MLB: and

Copyright 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.

Ida M. Morgan